To help protect daters’ privacy, in some regions, Hinge blocks attempts to screenshot or screen record certain pages that feature another dater’s profile or photo. If you try to capture one of these screens, the page will go dark and you'll see a short message explaining why.
What's blocked?
Screenshots and screen recording are blocked on the following pages and feeds:
- Discover
- Standouts
- Likes You
- Anyone else's profile
On your device, if you switch to another app while viewing one of these screens, Hinge hides the content in your app switcher too.
What's not blocked?
You can still take screenshots of:
- Any chats you’re a part of - so you're able to report anything that makes you uncomfortable
- Your own profile - it's your information, so it's yours to save or share
Why does Hinge do this?
We want you to feel safe showing up as your authentic self on Hinge. Screenshot blocking can help prevent daters’ personal information from being shared without their knowledge or consent. This adds a layer of protection, so daters can feel safer about putting themselves out there. For more on our standards, take a look at our Community Guidelines.
Need help?
If a screenshot gets blocked unexpectedly, or you're running into any other issue with this feature, contact us and we'll take a look.